

Cumann Lúth Chleas Gael Coiste Chontae Shligigh



## Connacht Gold Junior B Football Championship Final Replay 2020

## Markievicz Park, Sligo Monday 7th June 2021, 12 noon

Cuil Áine/Mullach na Bréine





# Naomh Fearnáin

Referee: Bill Carty Linesmen: Michael Harte & Pat Normanly



#### RÉAMHFHOCAL ÓN GCATHAOIRLEACH

Táim breá sásta fáilte a chur roimhaibh go léir anseo inniú go Páirc Markievicz ar son Coiste Contae Shligigh. Lá tabhachtach atá é – an chéad lá i mbliana go bhfuil clubanna ag imirt ár gcluichí. Is féidir le lucht tacaíochta filleadh ar chluichí ón lá inniú freisin agus freastalóidh na céadta ar chluichí ceannais i Sligeach inniú.



It is a great privilege for me to welcome everyone to Markievicz Park today for the Junior B Football Championship final replay between Coolaney/Mullinbreena and St Farnan's. It's a great day for us all with the return of club games and the attendance of supporters for our great games. The abrupt end to last year's club activities left several competitions incomplete but thankfully today hundreds of people will attend finals in Sligo today which is fantastic. Still more will be watching via streaming services which bring our games far and wide to those who cannot be in attendance today.

A warm welcome is extended to the two clubs contesting this Junior B Football Championship final replay – Coolaney/Mullinabreena and St Farnans. Both panels could hardly have believed at the end of the drawn final that it would be over 8 months before they could renew acquaintances, yet this is the case. The drawn game was a rip-roaring encounter and a tremendous advertisement for football at this level. I hope for another fine sporting game today.

My thanks to the CCC under chairperson Dermot Gannon for making the arrangements for this final together with compiling an excellent programme of games for clubs in 2021. Similarly, I'd like to thank Deirdre Gethins and her Coiste na nóg committee who are running 5 underage finals from 2020 today and have developed an outstanding calendar of activities for 2021. With the welcome and revolutionary decision by GAA Congress this year to move towards a "split season" it's an exciting time to be involved in fixtures planning and real improvements can be expected from 2022.

We are so lucky in Sligo GAA to have an Administrator with the capabilities of Eamonn McMunn in place. My sincere thanks to him for stepping in at short notice to produce the match programmes for todays games.

Referee for today's game is Bill Carty from Cloonacool and I wish to extend a special welcome to him and his sideline officials and umpires. I'm sure they will do a fine job.

Once again, Markievicz Park is looking fabulous and has been prepared meticulously by the Park Committee. Thanks to Paddy Galvin and co for their continuing dedication to making our county ground one of the finest around.

I would also like to thank our stewards, led by Joe Taaffe, who assist with the running of our games throughout the year and indeed year after year. Their contribution has been even more vital in helping us comply with Covid19 restrictions and protocols so I'd like to acknowledge them today.

Welcome also to the sporting media. Sligo GAA is thankful to them all for their continued promotion of our games.

My sincere thanks to our championship sponsors Aurivo/Connacht Gold. Their commitment and support of gaelic games in the county through this sponsorship is most important and truly appreciated by Sligo GAA.

In addition to sponsorship a key facet of the funding of the operations of Sligo GAA in recent times has been Club Sligo. With our debt now thankfully at manageable levels we can now focus on developing our talent and building for successes on the field. Our newly launched Club Sligo draw will play a vital role in the future we hope for and is designed to be a partnership with our clubs. I'm optimistic about its success and the benefits it will bring to clubs and county alike and would urge all Sligo GAA people to sign up and be part of the next phase of Sligo's development while also supporting your local club.

The Covid19 pandemic has placed a huge burden on everyone whether it was isolation for older people, protection of the vulnerable or the many new challenges forced upon us all not to mention the serious effects of the illness itself. On behalf of the community of Sligo GAA I extend sympathies to all who suffered through loss or in other ways through this difficult time. We all hope we are emerging to a more promising and brighter day when we can enjoy the simple pleasures of life with our nearest and dearest again. The efforts of frontline workers during this time have again underlined their value to society. Sligo GAA was delighted to join the "Your county, your colours, your support" initiative where a framed jersey was donated to a care setting (Sligo University Hospital) in recognition of all frontline workers. Their efforts have been nothing short of heroic.

Today's match will be preceded by a moments silence as a mark of respect for Eoin Mulkeen of Achonry and Coolaney/Mullinabreena GAA who died tragically a few weeks ago. Eoin was a keen sportsman, much loved by his teammates and coaches alike, whose loss will be felt keenly throughout Sligo and indeed beyond. Sympathy is extended to his family, friends and clubmates. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a h-anam.

Tá súil agam go mbainfidh gach duine taitneamh as cluiche an lae inniú. Beir bua.

Seán Ó Cearbhaill Cathaoirleach Coiste Contae Shligigh

(1) Lorcan Callaghan			(1) Simon Mullarkey			
(2) Keith Kirrane	( 3 ) Barry Kivlehan	(4) Cian O'Dowd	(2) Mark Culkin	(3) Padraic Culkin	(4) Oisin Connolly	
(5) Sean Walsh	(6) Pearse Gorman	(7) Brian Marren	( 5 ) Declan Cawley	(6) Niall Hunt	(7) Stephen Feeney	
	(8) (9) Sean Doyle Conor Feely			(8)    (9) Kieran Kilgannon (Capt)  Keith Lang		
(10) Shane Kivlehan	(11) Paul Connolly	(12) Alan Duggan (Capt)	(10) Evan Kilrehil	(11) David Culkin	(12) Shane Neary	
(13) Matt Conlon	(14) Cathal Davey	(15) Michael O'Dowd	(13) Shane Feeney	(14)	(15) Karl Hannon	
16 Padraig McGourty	Padraig McGourty 25 Shane Toughy		16	25 James McGowan		
17 Shane Marren			17 Darragh Gillen	26 Patrick Flynn		
18 Oisin O'Slattara	18 Oisin O'Slattara 27 Kieran Doddy		18 Stephen Creann	27		
19 Kevin Gorman	<b>19</b> Kevin Gorman <b>28</b> Conor Gorman		19 Niall Creann	28 Conor Feeney		
20 Eamon Gorman	20 Eamon Gorman 29 Daniel Mullen		20 Gary Hannon	29 Fergus Hargadon		
21 Gerard Mullen	21 Gerard Mullen 30 Oisin McDermot		21	30 Garreth Mullaney		
22 Colin Marren			22 Adrian Symth	31 Shane Devaney		
23 Jack Gormley		23 Jason McGuinness	32			
24 Ryan Matthews			24 Andrew McMunn	<b>33</b> John	n McNulty	
<u>Team Manager</u> John McGowan			<u>Team Managers</u> Dermot Browne Declan Taylor			

Connacht Gold Junior B Football Championship Final Replay 2020 #ConnachtGoldJFC



### www.sligogaa.ie



Facebook www.facebook.com/SligoGAA

